The State of Oregon has a Citizen Legislature consisting of the Senate, whose 30 members are
elected to serve four-year terms, and the House of Representatives, which has 60 members
elected for two-year terms. The assembly convenes every two years in regular session on
the second Monday in January during odd-numbered years, a date set by statute. Oregon
Constitution does not specify a limitation on session length, however most sessions last
approximately six months. During the interim, legislators serve on interim committees and task
forces that study issues likely to be faced during the next legislative session.

* Site contains info about the Senate, House, bills & laws, committees, budgets & tax, audio &
video resources, employment, related sites, frequently asked questions, capitol information,
citizen’s guide, kid’s pages, legislative contacts, committee schedule, press releases, and other

This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.